ourhealthylifestylejourney

sharing our lifestyle journey tips with others

Orzo summer Salad

orzo
Orzo Summer Salad

This salad is a winner! What a great treat for summer… when the outside is heating up ..You can cool down with this wonderful fruit and veggie Orzo salad…Today when I created this recipe..It was one of those hot and muggy days outside.. after working in the yard I needed or wanted something cool to eat… so I used some of my wonderful fresh cucumbers(diced) and cherry tomatoes(cut in fourths) from the garden..But I knew I wanted more punch in my salad… so after I cooked some Orzo on the stove..
orzo5
Rinsing under cold water to cool off…and put it in a bowl and place in the frig to chill…don’t skip this step… if you want a cold salad..
orzo4So Next I opened a can of mandarin oranges * little note here..check the can..some companies add sugar..make sure your’s has nothing but mandarin oranges* I cut the sections into thirds..next, I had some fresh pineapple , so I sliced it up and added it to the mandarin oranges, cucumbers and sliced cherry tomoatoes..Now for a fresh lite dressing.. I mixed about four tablespoons of fresh lemon juice and 4 tablespoons of the fresh pineapple juice…set dressing aside…
orzo

Get your Orzo out of the frig…add your chopped veggies and fruit to the cooked Orzo…mixing well.. next pour the lemon pineapple dressing over the mixture..mix well….I put mine in the frig..for about an hour..to chill..it was wonderful!!! The crisp crunch of the veggies..with the sweetness of the fruit..make for a wonderful Summer salad! Chow!

Orzo Summer Salad

1 Cup cooked Orzo
1 cucumber diced
12 cherry tomatoes (cut into fourths)
1 can mandarin oranges ( cut in half)
½ Cup fresh pineapple (diced)
4 Tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
4 Tablespoons of fresh pineapple juice..

Cook Orzo, rinse under cold water, place in large bowl and chill
Dice veggies and fresh fruit..add to chilled Orzo..
Mix lemon and pineapple juice..and pour over salad..Chill at least one hour , over night if possible..

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

