ourhealthylifestylejourney

sharing our lifestyle journey tips with others

Homemade Baby Bella Ravioli Vegan Style

please like our blog
ravi23
Ravioli…just the thought of it makes my mouth water!!! I can see it now..the soft pillows stuffed with goodness on my plate..with a laddle of fresh basil and tomatoes flowing all over the tiny little pillows! OMG! GOODNESS! In each bite!

I must say I didn’t think I could eat ravioli on a plant based/Vegan diet.. but I figured it out! I made my own little pillows of fresh vegan dough..and the filling is veggies..mushrooms, onions and garlic goodness…for sauce I used diced fire roasted tomatoes..with garlic and basil…yumms!
ravi21
Here is the finished Ravioli! Even my meat eating son ..loved these! Now that says something!!! Give them a try… I am going to come up with some more fillings..thinking spinach…sweet potato….bean???? I will post the updates on the fillings as I come up with them. Let me know if you tried these…and how you liked them!

Ravioli
Don’t let the dough stop you from making these..ravi6 I will let you in on a little secret…it was easy! Useing your food processor…thats it! Here’s how I did it..

DOUGH:
2 cups oat flour in the food processor ..add a dash of salt and give it a swirl..next I will share two different steps…if you don’t use Olive oil you can skip this step and go right to the water..
ravi7
slowly add 3 teaspoons of olive oil..pouring slowly through the food shoot on your processor..slowly..next do the same with the water, a Tablespoon at a time..up to the one cup of water.. be patient.. you can watch as the dough comes together more and more with each tablespoon of water..be patient..
ravi11
it is important you do this..don’t just dump all the water in.. or it won’t work..! Once you see all the dough mixed into a ball..shut off and remove.
ravi14
I let this set for 10-15 minutes so that I could make the filling..
ravi10

Filling
6 Baby Bella mushrooms..chopped fine
1/2 purple onion diced fine
3 Tablespoons garlic
saute together until the onion and mushrooms are soft..set aside and cool
ravi12

next divide the dough into two pieces..roll each out into a rectangle..the same size.
ravi4
next , spread filling onto first piece of dough…
ravi
then place the second piece on top..
ravi1
ravi18
with a ravioli stamp ( they come in round and square) stamp across dough making ravioli…it goes fast!!
ravi2

Place a large pot with water on stove and bring to a boil..drop in ravioli they will float to the top when they are done. Drain well…place on a platter and laddle sauce over the cooked ravioli!

ravi23
Sauce
2 cans fire roasted diced tomatoes
4 Tab fresh basil diced
4 Tab chopped garlic
1/2 cup chopped onion.

cook together and let simmer for around 30 minutes..then with an immersion blender..blend mixture until at least half of the diced tomatoes are smashed! Pour over cooked ravioli and enjoy!

This is a wonderful date night dinner..or Dinner party for the boss….no one will even notice it’s meatless!!

Chow!
Beverly

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

