Indulge in Healthy Living

sharing our healthy lifestyle journey , recipes and tips

Oats and banana pancakes

pancakes50
Good morning…today I got up with PANCAKES on my mind..actually, if the truth be told.. I went to bed with pancakes on my mind… I even dreamed about pancakes last night..so the first thing this morning, I was in the kitchen developing a plant based/Vegan pancake recipe… it took a few trial and errors…in the land of pancake making.. but I finally got it!
I took two cups of Oats (not instant) and ground them into oat flour…it was easy. Peasy…measure two cups of oats and put in blender or food processor ( I used a magic bullet) and taaadaaa.. oat flour…a matter of seconds.
Make sure you ground it super fine.. I shook mine up a little..to make sure it was getting everything incorporated.pancakes54

These turned out to be light and airy pancakes..just like I wanted.. And they were soooo good.. I didn’t need any syrup! You could use maple syrup or honey..or aven a fresh berry compote for the topping…but I picked mine up and ate them.. they were that good!!

I suggest you use a griddle to make these.. they can be a little hard to flip in a pan. I changed in the middle of making mine , from pan to griddle…it was a lot easisier…

I hope you like them as much as I did… I think the banana in the batter gives it a little more “punch”! Give them a try!
Chow!
pancakes53
Banana Oat pancakes

1 Cup Oats ( ground into flour)
½ container of Almond milk ( little size 8 oz..so it would be 4 oz.)
2 Teaspoons baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon of vanilla
2 Tab honey
2 over ripe banana’s smashed with fork
Mix oat flour,baking soda, salt , cinnamon, mix with spoon..add vanilla and almond milk
Mix well and add honey and smashed bananas. if the mixture is a little dry, add a bit more almond mix..being careful not to add too much.
pancakes52</a
Heat griddle and spray with non stick spray and drop ¼ cup of batter for each pancakes. Turning only once ( when top of pancake sis all bubbly, they are ready to turn).
wpid-20130629_094243.jpg>
Makes 6 pancakes. These can be frozen and reheated later, for a quick breakfast
pancakes50

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Oats and banana pancakes

  1. Valerie on said:

    You said half a container of almond milk-what size is that? Surely not a half of a half gallon?

Leave a Reply

