Indulge in Healthy Living

sharing our healthy lifestyle journey , recipes and tips

Jalapeno Jelly

a href=”https://ourhealthylifestylejourney.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/jalapenojelly.jpg”>jalapenojelly

I love canning foods!! I hadn’t done it in years….I learned to can from my Grandma Swope..and she has been gone for many years… and I don’t know why…but I never tried canning without her..until now… I love canning! I can’t get enough of it! I have been a canning nut these days… This is my second batch of Jalapeno Jelly.. The first batch went so fast.. I didn’t even get to try it.. from the feed back that I received… it was a hit!

I love using lots of Jalapeno’s … I don’t use a food processor…which is how many recipes tell you to process your jalapeno’s… I don’t like to do it this way.. because I like for my jalapeno’s to be present in my jelly… so this is how I do it..
I use lots of Jalapeno’s….about three cups, sliced…then I place those in a large pan along with two cups of white vinegar…I use my Immersion blender and blend the mixture…into nice slivered bits… to this I had one box of Pectin …and let come to a boil….then once it boils for about three minutes.. I had 6 cups of sugar…about a quarter at a time.. mixing well and letting it dissolve before I had more…after all of the sugar is put it.. I bring it to a boil and let boil for two minutes….then I laddle into prepared jars… put on the seals..and back in a Boiling water bath for 10 minutes…easy peasy!
Here is the recipe! I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!
jalapenojelly2<

3 Cups of Jalapeno's sliced
2C white vinegar
1 box powdered pectin (6 tablespoons from a bulk jar)
6 C sugar – pre-measured into a bowl

1. Remove the tops and seeds of all peppers (keep 1 jalapeno with the seeds in for mild heat, more if you like). Measure three cups jalapeno's and vinegar…put in kettle…add PECTIN and stir well…2. Bring to a rolling boil, add sugar a quarter at a time…., then stir until melted. If your jelly starts to set immediately (mine did) you might find it helpful to use a whisk. But it will all melt eventually, so don't worry. Bring back to a rolling boil for 2 minute, then remove from heat. Pour into hot jars, adjust lids, and process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

