Indulge in Healthy Living

sharing our healthy lifestyle journey , recipes and tips

Quick fix to weight loss?

I wish I could get this healthy eating down.. I just can’t seem to get it right… after weeks on the low carb diet.. I am off the program.. again…
I can’t seem to get it right…so back to square one…research..more research…and more thinking..I need … I want to do this.. so I will regroup and retry until I get it right..

So this is what I have come up with
there are NO quick fixes to losing weight..no magic .. no pills..no potions..only hard work..determination and guts! Yep sorry to bust your bubble…if you are reading this wanting to learn where to buy the Magic secret to weigh loss… you can’t…. I believe the magic is in yourself.. and each of us has to find a way to live in our world with all this food around us.. we can’t remove this and than..and never expect to want the old stuff again.. its not going to happen..

So I have decided after trying just about every diet on the planet.. that I am not going to diet anymore. Nope.. not going to do it.. what I am going to do is..eat sensibly ..setting a few guide lines along the way to help me make healthy choices..and smart ones at that..so what AM I going to do??

#1 Quit all diet and regular sodas..yep I am now on day two..after the first day of headacks, I learned to drink hot tea to relieve them..thank goodness.

#2 Drink water.. drink water.. and then drink more water… yes I said it. .we all know we should do it.. so now Just do it.. drink water..

#3 Eat all things in moderation…yes , nothing is on the DO NOT EAT LIST..nothing…does that mean I can eat all day long? anything I want? No moderation..my dears..moderation…

#4 Portion control..yep portions.. measure and weigh your food.. know the serving size and stick to it.. you can have a 1/2 cup of ice cream once in awhile..but NOT everyday…stay within limits..

#5 eating clean is best.. no packaged foods..fresh is best frozen is next..canned if you rinse the food first..

#6 Healthy Plate…1/2 with fruit and vegetables..1/4 with protein and 1/4 carbs..keep that in mind when eating..

#7 pick one day to eat what you want within reason.. plan for it.. special party.. pick that day… the remainder of the week , pick health plate eating

#8 Plan your meals.. at least a day ahead..and better yet..a week at a time. it’s ok if you revise it.. as you go about your week.. but planning will help you stick to the healthy plate plan…

#9 think portion control and calories..yes I said it ….good old fashion calories…decide how many you can have a day and then plan your 3 meals and 2 snacks a day.. remember 6 days of healthy plate eating..

#10. Make a food chart/calendar..put it on the frig and remember to look at it…also have some good low calorie choices for snacks..keep a supply of snack available to you.

#11 NO fast food.Period! That’s not to say you can’t go out to eat..at a sit down restaurant. .but No Fast food…if it has a drive through window it’s fast food…

#12 no white bread..we all know why…whole wheat…

#13 DON’T MAKE THESE CHANGES AT ONCE! SLOWLY MAKE THESE CHANGES OVER A PERIOD OF SEVERAL WEEKS EVEN MONTHS!

#14 Be flexible! ! Tweek it..make it your own..listen to your body. . (Not your stomach) as you make changes you will like how you feel. .and it will guide you to other changes..Ultimate goal is to be healthy. .

#15 Most importantly. …you didn’t gain it overnight. ..and your not going to lose it overnight. .it takes time and patience. ..

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

