Indulge in Healthy Living

sharing our healthy lifestyle journey , recipes and tips

Educate yourself to a healthier you!

healthy breakfast
VS
sasuage egg and cheese

As I am traveling on my healthy journey I am trying to educate myself on the why’s and how’s of nutrition..recently I have started to track different area’s of nutrition…not only calories..but carbs,fat,Protein, Sodium and sugar’s…
In doing this I have started to made some comparison’s to what my life was like before in the matters of what I ate daily…I am trying to not only get healthy , but to understand the how and why’s so I do not do it all over again. I think the more I can understand about food and what it does to our bodies..the more we are able to make educated decisions that will benefit our bodies.
Today is my first of what I am sure to be..many comparison’s… I must say I am shocked at the results…it’s no wonder I am fat…in my mind …I was thinking..that One sasuage egg and cheese biscuit..would be better for me than say…donuts from Dunkin doughnuts.. or some type of pastry…but in reality it was worse!

Here is my first Comparison’s….

Item Calories Carbs Fat Protein Sodium Sugar
Hardee’s Sausage, Egg & Cheese 630 37 45 18 1520 4
Glazed Donut 260 31 14 3 330 12
______________________________________________________________________________________
Healthy Meal
2 eggs 120 1 9 12 124 0
2 ww toast 140 13 1 3 125 2
peach fresh 33 8 0 1 0 8
______________________________________________________________________________________
TOTAL 293 22 10 16 249 10

I was shocked that I was eating 630 calories for breakfast! 31 carbs and 1520 of sodium! And this was every week Monday through Friday on my way to work! OMG! And if someone brought donuts..I would eat one or two of those! UGH!

I no longer go through the drive through window at fast food joints..nor do I eat in my car.. I plan my meals..down to the last morsel…some might think this is too rigid for them.. but let me ask you this.. How are you doing with eating on the run? Would you be reading this if it was working for you?? Maybe being rigid is a good thing…and it could help.. I know one day it will all be second nature for me to eat healthy.. but right now I need a plan..and figuring out the nutritional value of what is being put into my body…is my priority these days! I urge you to do the same.. educate yourself..knowledge can be a wonderful tool for you to win your battle with food..we can’t eliminate food completly..so I need to learn to live with it..the best way I can..so that I can have a healthy body..yes, I am just beginning to learn about nutrition…but each day I make my numbers in my food diary on MY FITNESS PAL..IT MAKES ME FEEL GOOD!
Give this a try…and get MYFITNESS PAL and start tracking your numbers…it will benefit you…and you will be on the right path to a healthier you! I wish you the best…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Educate yourself to a healthier you!

  1. This is exactly what needed to read today! 💗

Leave a Reply

